Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: first post have questions

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

first post have questions

Hey all! I'm new to this sight and new to Koi. First of all the pond I built is 4x5x2 feet deep. I know thats not to big, but I'm young and poor and I wanted an entry level pond I guess you could say. I have a small pump and filter for filtration/aeration, and I have 3 small koi about 2-3 inches long. Now on to my questions.

First how old are these Koi that I purchased? How much should I feed them a day ? They like to hide pretty much all day other than when I feed them, I know it's a good instinct to have, but I would like to see them more often.

Is my pond big enought for 3 Koi? Also I'm losing atleast and inch or two of water a day, is this normal.

Tategoi
    Post Thanks / Like
    Your immediate problem is that the pond is too shallow. Many of us on this board complain about predators eating or mangling our fish in ponds that herons/racoons etc. cannot stand in. Two feet deep would present no problem for any predator to pull up to the koi-buffet.

Koi also like to have places to hide and shade from the sun. For now, maybe your best bet is to give them some places that they can put themselves (as they grow) where they are harder to get by fish eating creatures.

Your fish are in their first year. They can grow very rapidly at this stage.

Feed them what they can eat in 5-10 minutes until you get a feel for them.

How do you have your pond filtered?
    ChrisC

Post Thanks / Like