Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Summer Food

Post Thanks / Like

Summer Food

Can I get some feedback on what people use for their summer food regimen. I've been using Hi-Silk the last few years and have been very happy with the results. There's another food that was presented to me which I've never used so before I "invest" in my summer koi food I'd like to get some opinions.

Hi-Silk
    Protein 43.8%
    Fat 8.9%
    Fiber 10%
    Ash 7.6%
    Price (approx) $15/kg

Nobori
    Protein 40%
    Fat 4%
    Fiber 3%
    Ash 10%
    Price (approx) $9/kg

Thanks in advance...

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi-Silk has always been good to my koi over the years and I have been using it for the past 4years.

Ingredients plays a big role in what you feed your koi. E-san I don't think you can compare Hi-Silk and Nobori side by side, it's like apples and oranges...Nobori is made from the same people that made Medicarp. I stopped using Medicarp because of the secondary hi it makes the fish get and it tends to bring down the shiroji of my fish.

My feeding this coming summer will be:

Morning: Wheatgrem (Hikari)
    Mid-day: Sweet Potato Pellets (Kawaguchi Shoten)
    Late Afternoon: Hi-Silk (Kawaguchi Shoten) and Sweet Potato paste food my own mix

I wont switch or take a gamble on using any other food at this point..it gets too expensive switching brands.
    The world sleeps as the chance to learn something new passes.

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like
    Erwin-