Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Showa Lessons for me.

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

Showa Lessons.

Hi all,

This is my maiden post.. and I just want to qualify that I am very new at koi keeping..... (5-6mths old). Been bitten by the koi bug already and I have just aquired myself some young showas (18-20 cm) from various farms without much knowledge in showas. Think some of you might have already seen the maruyama showa that was posted earlier by GCSpyder as a group of 4.

Since I am really new at this.... would appreciate your advice in what I have done wrong in making my selection and what is the likely potential of what I have chosen. (hope that I am not asking too much)
    Have to admit that they are not high quality kois though...

Your help is greatly appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4-showas.jpg 
Views:	259 
Size:	77.1 KB 
ID:	1337  

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like

nice

Hello

Nice Showa's, I like number one the most because the sumi looks well-placed and the motoguru shows nice quality sumi. then I have to chose between number 2 and 3. both breeders of these two Showa have a very high reputation of Showa but to say wich of the four will have the best potential you have to know te parents. Genetics are very important. like bodyshape, skinquality and size are genetic. Ofcourse is the handeling of the koi very important. I wish you good luck and thanks for the pictures. I'll think the evolution will be facenating

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the board!