Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Chloramines

  1. #1
    Jumbo Tom C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    715
    Post Thanks / Like

    Chloramines

    Do you have chloramines in your water?

    I have been getting a lot of calls with people losing koi. This year they started added chloramines to our water. It is shocking how much ammonia is in the water now out of tap. I was just wondering how everyone treats the water with chloramines before adding it to the pond.

    Tom

    Keep it simple, keep it straight Koi-Bito.com

  2. #2
    Jumbo dcny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Belmont, CA
    Posts
    863
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have chloramine in my water and haven't had too much of an issue. I rarely do large water changes though. I usually do something close to a constant trickel and flush my filters once a week to balance out the water level. When using that method, I don't use a binder or ST or anything. I only bring those out if I'm doing a water change of 20% or more.

    -Dan

  3. #3
    Tosai
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have started checking Cl levels of the tap water before I do water changes. Usually runs 2 to 3 ppm chlorine and 1 to 2 ammonia (from chloramine) . I had as problem with fish piping during a water change and tested pond and still had chlorine. Tested tap watrer and it was > 5ppm (max of my test kit). Contacted the city water department who said that was impossible , but sent a technician to test anyway. The technician got the same results as I did. Was a very nice guy ,and I do not think he was trying to fool me when he said that the levels should be impossible, as they cannot exceed 4 ppm chlorine at the source by law. At a loss as to why I was getting > 5ppm . Lesson- test CL level to use enough dechlorinator. I do not worry about the ammonia unless I'm doing > 20% water change, or unless my pH is running high. Ammonia toxicity increases with pH.
    Allen2909

  4. #4
    Sansai
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    253
    Post Thanks / Like
    We have chlorimines, which result in ~2.5PPM ammonia. Normally I would just ad Sodium Thiosulphate, resulting ammonia should be easy to handle with biofiltration. If water temps are above 85, or if water is its early in the season with an uncycled filters an ammonia binder should be used (like Chlor-Am-Ex). In the higher water temps biofiltration is less effective so this would give you some added protection.

  5. #5
    Sansai
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    192
    Post Thanks / Like
    They switched us over to chloramine about 6 months ago. I have a large carbon filter for the whole house and with my testing equipment I can not detect ammonia, free chlorine, or total chlorine.

    I remember when buying my unit, I said I was not all that worried about the ammonia since my filters would handle it. All I wanted was no chlorine.
    The salesman said"Why on earth would you want to drink water with ammonia in it?" Now if I only remembered what type of carbon they used.

Similar Threads

  1. chloramines
    By Grant in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 08:54 PM
  2. Removing Chloramines
    By Tom C in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 05:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com