Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: a hello and an apology. (Long w/ cliffnotes)

Tosai

a hello and an apology. (Long w/ cliffnotes)

Howdy everyone. I'm Chris, and I've been keeping some form of carp for the last 5 years (I still have 2 of the original 12 fish and actually gave away 6). I bought my house in the hills of Virginia that had an ex-fishpond mud hole in the backyard that I wanted to clean up.

I haven't had a fish die in 3 years and that was a new koi brought into my tiny pond. I didn't have the understanding that I should've at the time and still don't today, but seem to have healthy water in my expanded but still small pond. I did however have a kujaku disappear from my pond last weekend while I was in New York. It wasn't a great fish by what I'm learning to be higher quality standards, but my ex-gf and I got it together a year ago and it was disappointing.

Ok - my pond. It's actually a water garden. It is 390 gallons, not including the waterfall, after the biggest expansion I could make. I have a 900 gph pump and a mechanical filter/UV combo from laguna that's good for 700 gallons. I also have a prefilter box on a small 120 gph pump that's surrounded by bio-balls, and my waterfall is filled with lava rock. I have 3 koi - 1 7-8" shusui, 1 5" hariwake, and 1 5" sanke. I also have 1 6" goldfish, 1 5" shubunkin, and a couple other small fish that I'm going to remove so it would be the one goldy and shubunkin up top in the 150 gallon pond, and the 3 koi in the bottom in the 240 gallon pond. I take very good care of my pond with 10% water changes and filter backwashes more than 3x a week. The water tests and looks great.