Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: New here, and in the middle of a huge pond project

Fry

New here, and in the middle of a huge pond project

Hello everyone!

I just wanted say how much I'm learning from this site.

We are redoing a huge koi pond which up 'til now has been just a giant 65 x 25 ft hole in the ground with no liner, filtration, or water flow system in it. The depth varies from six to ten feet.

It was built by the previous owner of the property.

We rescued the two large (22 inch) koi, 20 smaller white and orange koi, some 50 golden/purple fish I haven't been able to identify (they are about five inches long), and thirteen small fry.

I'm a landscaper and am working with a local pond expert on the redo project.

I'm glad to be here and will try and post some pictures of the project as it progresses.

Can anyone tell me what the smaller gold and purple fish might be? They are a metalic gold on their sides, but a dark purple-ish black when viewed from above.

Thanks!

Debbie

Quote Originally Posted by Finn View Post
    Hello everyone!

I just wanted say how much I'm learning from this site.

We are redoing a huge koi pond which up 'til now has been just a giant 65 x 25 ft hole in the ground with no liner, filtration, or water flow system in it. The depth varies from six to ten feet.

It was built by the previous owner of the property.

We rescued the two large (22 inch) koi, 20 smaller white and orange koi, some 50 golden/purple fish I haven't been able to identify (they are about five inches long), and thirteen small fry.

I'm a landscaper and am working with a local pond expert on the redo project.

I'm glad to be here and will try and post some pictures of the project as it progresses.

Can anyone tell me what the smaller gold and purple fish might be? They are a metalic gold on their sides, but a dark purple-ish black when viewed from above.

Thanks!

Debbie