Help Gill Problem, Fish are Dying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Gill Problem, Fish are Dying

Hi guys, i'm a newbie in Koi keeping... I had started buying since about a month ago. But these past 2 weeks, the kois are dead around one each day. May be from total of 45 fish i now end up with 35ish.

Attach are pics of one of the dead fish. I cannot identify if it's BGD or gill fluke or other parasites. Frankly i have not tested my water quality yet. Wich i will do tomorrow after buying the kit. Please if anyone can help identify what it is. And how to treat the rest.

Another thing if salt bath can help, how long should i keep the rest of the fish in high concentrate salt bath? Can i do water change and put high concentration of salt in the main pond or should i use QT pond.

Please advice. Thanks alot...
    Attached Files

It is obvious from the photos that a 'gill rot' has set in. The causes can be numerous. Much more information is needed... including where you are located, your pond set-up, water parameters, the history of the pond, the nature of the source of the fish, whether the fish were quarantined before going in the pond.

I do not want to scare you, but having so many die in such a short time frame makes me want to include KHV on the list of possibilities. Or, it could be the result of ammonia burn from 'new pond syndrome' giving rise to bacterial infection. A lot has to be known to try to narrow the possibilities. It would be best if you can contact an experienced koikeeper near you to visit and advise. If there is a koi club in your area, there may well be someone who has volunteered to advise in this sort of situation.

Comment