Pond returns versus Good Body Shape

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pond returns versus Good Body Shape

I am new to the Koi hobby and is currently planning a 25000lt pond with outside measurements of 5.2 x 2.4 x.2.2 due to space constraints.
    I own a few above average Koi with growth potential and would like to create a good environment for future growth. Part of my planning is a Nexus 300, Easy Pod, Trickle Towers, and Air Dome Bottom Drains.

I am getting mixed signals from my fellow Koi Keepers re the question about pond returns, top, mid and bottom for the purposes of Koi exercise by means of a timer.
    Some view that the piping will contain anaerobic pathogenic bacteria over a period of time, due to the system not running fulltime. Some suggest that with the help of valves the system is changed from a pump flow to a suction system via an alternate line when Koi are rested. My question is if this is still practiced by Koi keepers today or is this method not important to achieve good body shape? Is the pond to small to create too much current? Does the air dome play a role in achieving current and body shape?
    Bobby Matthee

A lot of questions there Bobby. First and foremost is the domes on the bottom drains. Far more current is created from these (under typical installation) than from the pump's return lines. That being said, the returns, as TPRs are used to twist the currents created by the air domes creating a more efficient draw to the drains for the solids. As for dormant lines goinf stagnent, just leave the vales cracked a tad and thus the water does not stagnate.

Steve
    The views presented are my personal views and not that of any organization that I may belong to unless otherwise specified. [email protected]
    CKHPA

Comment

Bobby,