This is Kohaku, Loran

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is Kohaku, Loran

I was looking at aquitori's Judging Kohaku thread http://www.koi-bito.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2258 and the body shape of Koi B reminded me of two famous koi - This is Kohaku and Loran. In a past issue of Koi-Bito, with the young breeders part 1, many of them pointed to Loran as the most memorable koi they had ever seen or the one that left the largest impression on them.

I know that Loran was the only two time winner of the All Japan Shinkokai. What's so special about Loran?
    Is this body shape, with the smaller head, considered more of a classical shape? I don't see many koi with this shape these days. Is this still desirable today?

I'm just starting to learn about koi, it's history, and appreciation so forgive these naive questions.

Thanks,
    Dan

another Ogawa favorite!

Dan, if you look at Loran you can see she has wide shoulders. So her confirmation is a little off. Her over all quality especially her shiroji is a stunner.

I have not seen Loran in Person but those who have please post.

Joe
    It's a living creature (chit happens)

Comment

most judging programs hold that 60% of the grade comes from body shape, or confirmation if you will. i think the smaller head emphasised the big shoulders
      and left a deep impression of balance with her pattern. She did win the "show'
      two times because she also had great skin and thick beni. It was a tribute to her owners that a koi could be kept so well as to be able to repeat.

what is hard in the beginning during your learning curve is to imagine the "presence" a koi has in the judging pond. You can get no sense of it from a photograph.

I hope someday you'll be able to see the show in person. It will go along way in helping you to understand.
      Dick Benbow

Comment