Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: New To Spawning !

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like

Question New To Spawning !

I recently upgrade from a small pond to a large out door pond with a large waterfall this past fall.It's 17 ft Length/long 12ft Wide/accross by 2.5 ft deep(Shallow end) by 5 ft deep(Deepest end)

My question for you ?Since this is my first time spawning the kois, how can I tell the differnt kois ? I plan on Breeding my platuim ogon/scaless(Female),with my Gin Rin Koi and Becko(Males) Then I have a Female Kohaku, Thinking about with Tancho and Diotsu(males). Is thier a way to figure which would be a better breading pair for spawning. Or should I switch up the males ? Since I'm still new to spawning any help will be great. The kois arent spawning yet since its still winter here in KY. But I'm looking forward spawning the kois this spring. I like to plane ahead, so when the time is near I'll already know what to do.

Thanks,

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like
    Where do you plan on spawning them? It takes a large qt tank at least and then ammonia is a problem as a lot of it is produced in the spawning process. Many fish get an ammonia burn if not monitored closely. Then where will you raise the fry? Remember you could have 100,000 or more to start. Many more questions to ask before you worry about posible breeding trio....later...Gary

Post Thanks / Like