Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First post on this board

First post on this board

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site. From what I have seen a lot of the upper end hobbyist are on this one.

We finish up are pond earlier this year and we are starting to buy some nicer koi for it. I would like to know your thoughts on feeding. I know this time of the year feeding isn't the main topic, but I would like to be set for next year. I here people talk about this food or that food. Some say the store bought pellets are not good enough and other only use them. For the last few years I have been using Hikari wheat germ all year around when I am able to feed because of water temp. As the water temp comes up I do add other foods to the wheat germ. This year I was adding Hikari Hi Growth to it. My thoughts for this year is to feed the wheat germ in the early spring and if in the fall. Then in the later part of spring and summer feed them High-Silk and Ogata Performance. They will also get foods like shrimp. What's you thought on this? Should I be feeding some home made paste foods also? If so what would you use for ingredients in it?

I know we are going to have a hard time keeping the number of koi down in the pond. The pond is 9,000 US gallons and I would like to have no more than 9 to 10 koi in it. But my wife has to have a few she wants also. This might bring the count up to 13 max on it. I will not be going over that. I think at 13 koi in a 9,000 gallon pond we will still be OK and get some great growth out of them.

Thanks!

Tom

Talking

Tom,

This is a great place to share information. IMHO, there are many passionate koi keepers and breeders on this board. Everything I've learned so far has been either sparked or reinforced by members on this board.