Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: was curious of who looked into mr koi's offer

was curious of who looked into mr koi's offer

if you followed any of my threads on studing grouping of koi over the years, you'll see i place a lot of value on the excercise.

Mat at nisei koi farm, had a popular thread here on culling kohaku and made an offer to break the koi into 3 grades and offer a package. I was just curious as to who took him up on that.

I bring it up because this kind of self taught teaching can make a big difference in understanding what your seeing.

two years ago, I got my hands on hosokai asagi's, close to a dozen of them.
    I learned a lot from raising that group.

Last year Dan,sharon and I got a group of study gosanke from Toshio Sakai. We have photoed, measured and kept notes on what we're seeing.

This year I got a group of Goshiki from Mat that I have done the same with.
    (Mike I feel the same as you, but he slipped in 3 gin rin and 3 wagoi and one of the GR is now my favorite )

As long as I'm rambling, I thought Mat and Richard ( both breeders who post here) had some profound statements about the focus of sembetsu (culling).
    I hope you picked up on them. If not get back into the entire thread and reread what was said. Richard likened it to a musical note that strikes a chord. Mat was focused alone, not distracted by any other interuption than the task at hand.Some would consider it a zen thing, other's a sense of focus. Because it is a learned experience, you can learn it too.

I have not looked into it, but would be very interesed in doing so. I have always admired Mat's kohakus and it would be interesting to watch 3 of them of different grades grow up.

I did buy my very first JK Koi last night. I am anxious to watch them grow up too!!